Darien Brahms
Number 4

Darien Brahms Number 4 coverCornmeal Records is proud to announce the August 18th, 2008 release of "Number 4", the new CD by Darien Brahms. Brahms, one of the most popular performers on the vibrant Portland Maine music scene, is releasing her second CD on Cornmeal and her first since 2003’s acclaimed “Green Valentine”. Drawing on the wide variety of influences and styles that have made her a local legend in New England, Brahms returns after a 5 year hiatus with her most powerful work to date. From the swampy rock opener of "Cream Machine" to the plaintive album-closer "Donna", Brahms, who recorded and produced the album in her Portland home with only the assistance of long time collaborator Paul Chamberlain, has never sounded better.

A six-time winner of the “Best Female Vocalist and Best Performer” award in her hometown of Portland, Brahms’ distinctive style combined with her high energy live performances have landed her opening slots for the likes of The Violent Femmes, Townes Van Zandt, Daniel Lanois and Ben Harper. She released her first full length solo CD “Hello, Hello To The People” in 1992 and her second, “Little Bundle Of Sugar” (which featured the guitar of Marc Ribot), was released in 2000. In between, she fronted two rock bands and was the principle songwriter and front woman for the hugely successful Latin-jazz lounge quartet, The Munjoy Hill Society, who released their own CD in 2000 to critical acclaim. More recently she has contributed three tracks to the “Greetings From Area Code 207” benefit CD series, a track to the national compilation, “Calling All Kings And Queens” (on Mr. Lady Records) and also recorded with her honky-tonk alter ego, Darien Brahms and Her Calico Chaps, featuring members of Diesel Doug and The Long Haul Truckers and The Coming Grass.


01) Cream Machine
02) Shut Up and Be Quiet
03) For Crying Out Loud
04) I Used To Be A Clown
05) We're All Okay
06) Appetite
07) Sweet Little Darling
08) Kitty's Trapped In The Well
09) I'm So Afraid
10) Beautiful Bridge
11) Slide Song 1993
12) Fists Full Of Rain
13) Donna
14) Too Late For Whitey

Purchase: www.cdbaby.com
Artist Website: www.darienbrahms.com